THE STYLE GEM X VELVET & ROSE LONDON

DSC_0164

When it comes to jewellery I’ve always loved wearing bold and chunky statement pieces. It isn’t often I get to wear jewellery anymore with the girls pulling and tugging on them all the time. So when I do wear I piece, I like to make it worth my while which is why I have my eye on every single piece from the Velvet and Rose London collection.

Trudy, founder of Velvet and Rose London is a talented London based designer and I was recently lucky enough to style a stunning necklace from her collection. What I love most about this necklace is it’s cleverly designed adjustable string allowing you to wear it at a length that suits you are your outfit. It’s all handmade with quality beading and the colour combination is just divine. Drawing inspiration from celebrity mum Beyonce I produced an editorial style shoot to depict the life of a modern mother enjoying the qualities of home life and life with her children.

VRL_MM_1TSGXVRL_TSG_1TSGXVRL_TSG_4TSGXVRL_TSG_12TSGXVRL_TSG_5

As part of our collaboration, I also took the time to get to know a little more about Trudy. Here’s what I found out about this gorgeous momma of one.

Congratulations on the recent launch of your label. Tell us a little about yourself and your inspiration behind Velvet & Rose London

Thank you Sovanny. My name is Trudy Furusa and am a self taught designer based in the Uk. I have always loved fashion from a very young age and  I  remember I used to rip my clothes apart and put bits and bobs together in patterns that I liked.

A few years after I moved to the Uk I started buying and selling clothes to friends and family and online as well. It was very rewarding but i wanted something I could put my stamp on it, something I could connect with, something bold and that’s how Velvet and Rose was born.

Recently a friend showed me a necklace that I sold to her 5 years ago before VRL and I honestly could not remember it at first until she reminded me of the events that led to her buying that necklace.

As a working mother, what does a day in the office look like and whats the best part of your job?

Everything revolves around my daughter and as a result I have learnt to maximize my time as I do not have set times when I start or finish work. No two days are the same, sometimes I am up as early as possible to catch up on orders and emails and in the day time make calls or go out for meetings. The best part of my job is spending time with my daughter and doing what I love.

Your collection is full of bold and edgy pieces. What is the most unusual/exciting custom made request you’ve received from a client?

A few months ago I had the privilege to make a piece for a bride. It took me a good few days to sit down and start working on it as it was out of my comfort zone and went back and forth during the process. The piece had a lot of intricate details and it was worthwhile being able to meet the brides expectations.

With a young family and as an emerging designer, what you be your one piece of advice for those who find the juggling act tough to follow?

Persevere !!! It is not easy juggling family and building a brand, always remind yourself why you started in the first place because it is all worth it in the end. I have also found that planning ahead to keep on top of things is the way forward as family life changes regularly. I would also recommend to take some time out for yourself some fresh air will go a long way.

Thank you so much for dropping by the blog and don’t forget to follow Trudy now on Instagram.

Sovanny x

TSGXVRL_TSG_8TSGXVRL_TSG_11TSGXVRL_TSG_10

I’m wearing: Yellow Mantis necklace from Velvet & Rose London | All clothing and eyewear from Mode Madison

Connect with The Style Gem

           

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT HERE ♡

18 thoughts on “THE STYLE GEM X VELVET & ROSE LONDON

Leave a Reply

