REALITY

Reality_TSG_8

Afer having my second daughter Gemma ( now 7.5 months), I felt a bursting need to get back into the styling and blogging scene. I missed it. Like really missed it.

Suddenly, weeks and months passed by. Come to think of it soon it will be Christmas and while, I’ve kept myself very busy, little has been accomplished. The reality is, I am a mother of 2 who’s set herself up for failure by putting too much on her to do list. A mother who is sleep deprived, over tired and lacking creativity because she can’t focus.

For a while, I have been thinking about how to bounce back and it’s been a struggle. I mean why can’t I just enjoy motherhood for what it is. Although I’ve been a little checked out, there are a lot of style bloggers out there I keep tabs on and look up to. I see how they’ve flourished in the past 12 months and they give me hope. With that there have been more than a few attempts to do a style shoot, but everything I’ve worn in the last few months has been an experiment. One that’s truly had more misses than hits. Mostly because my old wardrobe wasn’t suitable for me anymore. I needed to re-style myself for the new me.

Then back in May, I began volunteering my time at a local opportunity shop. It wasn’t until then that I re-descovered my love for thrifting and affordable fashion. After all, it’s part of the reason why I started Mode Madison. Since then, I’ve slowly been curating pieces and updating my wardrobe to give it a fresh and practical look. With clothes that are suitable for everyday wear. Suitable meaning, I can run errands in them, play with my girls in them and clothes that are all breastfeeding friendly. What does this look like? Think joggers, oversized shirts, overalls and anything that’s a wrap. There’s also the occasional chic pieces for my girls night outs.

So here I am, the new Style Gem where stylish (and practical) meets motherhood. Stay tuned for more style posts.

Thanks for reading.

Sovanny xxx

Reality_TSG_2Reality_TSG_3Reality_TSG_1Reality_TSG_11Reality_TSG_9Reality_TSG_10Reality_TSG_4

I’m wearing: Jumpsuit by Missguided | Sunglasses from Mode Madison | Everything else old
Kids wearing: Leopard sweaters by Cotton On Kids | Everything else old

Connect with The Style Gem

           

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT HERE ♡

Leave a Reply

